Riptide 2013 Women’s Bodyboarder of the Year

And the nominees are…
Read ’em and weep y’all – here are the top five nominees for the Riptide 2013 Women’s Bodyboarder of the Year award. The votes were closer than you’d expect and this year has seen Aussie Emma Cobb and young-gun Alexandra Rinder jump up into the top five, at the expense of Karla Costa-Taylor and Neymara Carvalho who finished fourth and fifth respectively last year. While Isabela took out the World Title the other four girls have all had impressive showings – could an upset be afoot? Let us know who you’ve got your money on in the comments section below.

Big thanks as usual to Michael Jennings from Adventure Productions for piecing together the clip, and to the IBA media legends David Wayland and Seamus Makim, Javier Fleitas, Rickyphotosport and Imagefilmz for addtional footage.

For those of you wanting more women’s bodyboarding action, Riptide #196 features some freesurfing gold from two of the nominees – Isabela and Lilly – and Emma Roby, the latter charging some seriously heavy Shipsterns Bluff. Grab a copy here.

In the next few weeks we’ll be rolling out the top five nominees in the remaining six awards categories, ahead of the winners announcement in Riptide #197, which goes on sale on Thursday, December 12. Still to come are – Dropkneer of the Year, Biggest Move of the Year, Craziest Wave of the Year, Best Clip/Podcast of the Year, DVD/Film of the Year and Photographer of the Year. In the meantime check out what we’ve already revealed so far, below:

Grom of the Year – top five.

Bodyboarder of the Year – Ben Player

Bodyboarder of the Year – top five.