Champs crowned at NRMA NSW State Titles

Congrats to all the new NSW State Champs!
Above: Senior Men’s winner Scott Arena (of Ettalong). Photo: Ethan Smith/SNSW

Words courtesy Surfing NSW

BOX BEACH, PORT STEPHENS (Sunday, 15 March 2015): Ten new NSW champions were crowned today when the NRMA NSW Bodyboard State Titles wrapped up in clean two foot peaks at Box Beach.
Jack Harries (Avoca) took out the coveted Open Mens division performing a variety of innovative moves. Harries came up against some stiff competition in the form of fellow Central Coasters Jake Gibson (Wamberal), Lucas Magoney (Toukley) and local surfer Anthony Thurlow (Nelson Bay), but thanks to a solid 13.04 heat total, Harries was able to take the title back to Avoca.
Scott Arena (Ettalong) continued his amazing run through the NRMA NSW Bodyboard State Titles, taking out the Senior Mens (Over-23) final. The Central Coast bodyboarder performed an eclectic mix of maneuvers to post an impressive 8.67 wave score (out of a possible ten points), which consequently allowed him to keep his opposition at arms length over the course of the final.
After nearly missing out on his Open Mens Drop Knee semi-final due to a late arrival, Aaron Glossop (Kurnell) managed to take out the coveted final for a series of powerful turns. The southern Sydney surfer posted a heat total of 11.16 to get the edge over Mathew Sullivan who claimed second position.
Heath Werner (Toormina) put on an exciting display of rolls and spins to claim the Masters (Over-35) division. The North Coast bodyboarder posted an excellent 15.0 heat total to take the win in the highly competitive division.
Joe Bourke (Copacabana) added another accolade to his already massive resume taking out the Junior Mens (Under-18) division. The Central Coast bodyboarder locked in an impressive 15.5 heat total, which allowed him to take a narrow victory over Shayden Schrader (Port Macquarie) who finished in second with a 13.33 total.
Multiple division finalist Noah Gillroy (Botany) put his opposition on the ropes in the Groms final (under-14). Gillroy locked in a pair of 6.17 wave scores, which left his fellow finalists chasing a solid 8.52 wave score, that unfortunately didn’t turn up by the time the final hooter sounded.
James Doherty’s (Coogee) ability to find punchy walls proved vital in the Cadets (Under-16) division. Doherty posted a 12.2 heat total to take the win.
Shauna Gillett (Martinsville) showed why she was the 2014 Australian Champion, claiming the Open Womens final. Gillett took the win over France Hazar (Avalon) with a heat total of 13.0.
Sean Leathers (Dorrigo) charged out of the gate in the Grand Masters (Over-45) final, taking off on solid peaks and performing giant rolls to take the win.
Sam Gillett (Martinsville) never looked like slowing up in the dual Open Womens finals performing some radical spins and rolls with pinpoint precision to claim the win ahead of sister Teigan and Sophie Leathers (Dorrigo).
Central Coast Bodyboarder Club took out the free club challenge over five other respective clubs and as a result, took out the $250.00 purse. They will now go into the Kiama event as top seed in the clubs challenge.
The main location for event one was Box Beach located in the heart of Port Stephens with back-up locations at Fingal, One Mile and Birubi.

Event two of the two event series will hit Kiama later from 1 – 3 May, 2015.

Total points from both rounds will be tallied and used to select the team to represent the state at the 2015 national titles, which will take place at the Australian Surf Festival in Coffs Harbour in August.

Surfing NSW will implement free club challenges at both State Title events with the winning club from each State Title event claiming $250.00 and the overall winner claiming $500.00.

The NRMA NSW Bodyboard State Titles, event one was proudly supported NRMA, Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, HIF, Carve, Ohana Ocean Athletics, NBN, Port Stephens Council and Surfing NSW.

Open Men
1 – Jack Harries (Avoca)
2 – Jake Gibson (Wamberal)
3 – Anthony Thurlow (Nelson Bay)
4 – Lucas Magoney (Toukley)

Senior Men (Over-23)
1 – Scott Arena (Ettalong)
2 – Mitch East (Sandy Beach)
3 – Sean Lee (Bonville)
4 – Martin Fowler (Adamstown Heights)

Junior Men (Under-18)
1 – Joe Bourke (Copacabana)
2 – Shayden Schrader (Port Macquarie)
3 – Anthony Thurlow (Nelson Bay)
4 – Darcy Bourke (Copacabana)

Open Drop Knee
1 – Aaron Glossop (Kurnell)
2 – Mathew Sullivan (Coffs Harbour)
3 – Zachary Armytage (Wombara)
4 – Dilan Carestia (Maroubra)

Masters (Over-35)
1 – Heath Werner (Toormina)
2 – Greg Arnold (Avoca)
3 – Luke Flipek (Port Macquarie)
4 – Andrew Turnbridge (Surry Hills)

Grand Masters (Over-45)
1 – Sean Leathers (Dorrigo)
2 – Greg Chambers (Mona Vale)
3 – France Hazar (Avalon)
4 – Paul Mace (Elermore Vale)

Open Women
1 – Shauna Gillett (Martinsville)
2 – France Hazar (Avalon)

Junior Women
1 – Sam Gillett (Martinsville)
2 – Teigan Gillett (Martinsville)
3 – Sophie Leathers (Dorrigo)

Cadets (Under-16)
1 – James Doherty (Coogee)
2 – Noah Gillroy (Botany)
3 – Riley Carmody (Boat Harbour)
4 – Harry Crain (Copacabana)

Groms (Under-14)
1 – Noah Gillroy (Botany)
2 – Tristian Sheedy (Medowie)
3 – Jack Rodgers (Forster)
4 – Clay Murphy (Windale)