Queensland Bodyboarding Titles wraps up on the Gold Coast

Full results from State Bodyboarding Titles at Duranbah
The 2015 Queensland Bodyboarding Titles presented by BSC concluded today at Duranbah Beach with some epic waves and bodyboarding on offer.

Securing the highest individual wave score of the day was Sunshine Coast local Joey Orme (Caloundra, QLD) who scored a perfect 10 point ride (out of possible 10 points) in the final of the Blue Ribbon Open Mens final. Orme’s back up score of 8.83 points gave him a heat total of 18.83 and victory in the prestigious event defeating Noah Aubort (15.57, Currumbin, QLD), Eric Roy (12.5, Palm Beach, QLD) and Silas Ganciar (10.27, Coolangatta, QLD) respectively.

Kingscliff brothers Santo and Buzz Van Der Waal launched into a sibling battle royal in their aggregated dual final of the Grommets Under 14 division with elder brother Santo coming out with a win in today’s event. Santos combined 4 wave total of 29.49 (out of possible 40 points) was enough to claim victory over brother  Buzz (22.33), Oliver Carrick (15.2, Coolangatta, QLD), Elijah Keegan (5.04, Yaroomba,QLD) and Blair Mcduff (4.07, Caloundra, QLD) respectively.

Justin Kirkpatrick (Broadbeach, QLD) was the first of the blue ribbon Open Men’s divisions to take out a Queensland State Title in the Drop Knee (DK) division, having surfed two aggregated score finals today.

In a stellar performance Adam Keegan (Yaroomba, QLD) secured the double claiming victory in both the Senior Mens (Over 23) and Master Mens (Over 35). Keegan defeated inform competition in both divisions by only the narrowest of margins to claim bragging rights for the 2015 season.

The Queensland State Bodyboarding Titles presented by BSC is the event that will determine the Queensland Bodyboarding team to compete at the biggest gathering of surfers and bodyboarders in the country at the Australian Surf Festival held from July 31-August 17 at Coffs Harbor.

The Queensland State Bodyboarding Titles presented by BSC is proudly supported by Bodyboarders Surf Co, Riptide, the Queensland Government, Coastalwatch Plus, Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, World Surfaris, HIF and Surfing Queensland.
Spectators and competitors are encouraged to interact via Instagram under the Hashtag #QLDBODYBOARDING


Open Men:
1st- Joey Orme
2nd- Noah Aubort
3rd- Eric Roy
4th- Silas Ganciar

Open Women:
1st-Britt – Marie Ladley

Open Drop Knee:
1st- Justin Kirkpatrick
2nd- Brett Dalton
3rd- Luke Fisher
4th- Matt Wrong

Junior Women:
1st- Zoe Curling

Under 16 Boys:
1st- Jai Huntley
2nd- Jai Smith
3rd- Rees Williams
4th- Matthew Whitelock

Under 14 Boys:
1st- Santo Van Der Waal
2nd-Buzz Van Der Waal
3rd- Oliver Carrick
4th- Elijah Keegan
5th- Blair Mcduff

Under 18 Boys:
1st-Mutunga Pritchard
2nd- Zayne Smith
3rd- Sam Vrbanic

Over 23 Men:
1st- Adam Keegan
2nd- Rikki D’Ambros
3rd- Joel Cockeram
4th-John Childs

Over 35 Men:
1st-Adam Keegan
2nd- Justin Kirkpatrick
3rd-Shane Reilly

Over 45 Men:
1st-Graeme Ellis
2nd-Brett McAskill

Stay tuned to www.surfingqueensland.com http://www.surfingqueensland.com/  for news, photos and updates relating to the event.

‘Like’ Surfing Queensland on Facebook www.facebook.com/surfingqueenslandinc http://www.facebook.com/surfingqueenslandinc for event updates, photos and more.

‘Follow’ Surfing Queensland on Instagram: @surfingqueenslandinc #SQLD. 

Previous articleAndre Botha – Desert Trip
Next articleCohen Thomas – II Months
Michael is the Editor-in-Chief at Riptide Bodyboarding and oversees all editorial content on the website and print publications. He currently resides on the Gold Coast where he can be found battling the crowds on the beachbreaks in between chasing up the latest bodyboarding news.