Riptide guest contributor Steve “Action” Jackson gives us a rundown of the history behind the ISA World Championships and a walk through on past world champions.

The International Surfing Association held its first major event, The World Surfing Championship, at Manly Beach, Australia in 1964 and has been running championship events around the world for more than 50 years now. 

Bodyboarding was included as part of the World Surfing Titles for the first time in 1988, with the ISA expanding the field of bodyboarding at the World Surfing Games to include both Men’s and Women’s divisions in 1996. 

Championships were held every two years through 2008.  In 2011, bodyboarding was given its own stand-alone championship event, the World Bodyboard Championship, which is held on an annual basis.  Here is the complete list of ISA Bodyboarding World Champions as compiled from the official ISA website.

Portugal’s Teresa Almeida pulls into a right barrel in Iquique on her way to being crowned Women Open Champion in 2014. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

1988 World Surfing Titles: Chris Cunningham (USA)

1990 World Surfing Championship: Jackie Buder (Hawaii)

1992 World Amateur Titles: Nicolas Capdeville (France)

1994 World Amateur Titles: Jefferson Anute (Brazil)

1996 World Surfing Games: Guilherme Tamega (Brazil), Daniela Freitas (Brazil)

1998 World Surfing Games: Goncalo Farias (Portugal), Dora Gomes (Portugal)

2000 World Surfing Games: Guilherme Tamega (Brazil), Karla Costa (Brazil)

2002 World Surfing Games: Nicolas Capdeville (France), Neymara Carvalho (Brazil)

2004 World Surfing Games: Andrew Lester (Australia), Kira Llewellyn (Australia)

2006 World Surfing Games: Manuel Centeno (Portugal), Kira Llewellyn (Australia)

2008 World Surfing Games: Marcus Lima (Brazil), Natasha Sagardia (Puerto Rico)

2011 World Bodyboard Championship

Men’s: Pierre Louis Costes (France)

Women’s: Isabela Sousa (Brazil)

Dropknee: Ardiel Jimenez (Spain)

Junior: Eduardo Rodriguez (Spain)

Team: France

2012 World Bodyboard Championship

Men’s: Eder Luciano (Brasil)

Women’s: Sari Ohhara (Japan)

Dropknee: Iain Campbell (South Africa)

Under 18 Boys: Maxime Castillo (France)

Under 18 Girls: Shiori Okazawa (Japan)

Team: Brazil

2013 World Bodyboard Championship

Men’s: Eder Luciano (Brazil)

Women’s: Neymara Carvalho (Brazil)

Dropknee: Luis Rodriguez (Venezuela)

Under 18 Boys: Jefferson Bustos (Costa Rica)

Under 18 Girls: Glorielys Oropeza (Venezuela)

Team: Brazil

Aloha Cup Tag-Team Relay Challenge:  Venezuela

2014 World Bodyboard Championship

Men’s: Tristan Roberts (South Africa)

Women’s: Teresa Almeida (Portugal)

Dropknee: Amaury Lavernhe (France)

Under 18 Boys: Yoshua Toledo (Chile)

Under 18 Girls: Carolina Botteri (Peru)

Team: Chile

Aloha Cup Tag-Team Relay Challenge: France

The 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is scheduled to run December 6-13 in Iquique, Chile at La Punta 1, the site of last year’s event. 

The International Surfing Association and the World Bodyboard Championship are officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee. 


Be sure to visit the ISA World Bodyboard Championship website for more information as well as live webcast coverage for this year’s event.