Basque Country’s Alex Uranga has sent a message across the APB World Tour after a dominating performance to claim the Itacoatiara Pro title.


The men’s final pitted the two pre-event favourites, Alex Uranga (EUK) and Pierre Louis Costes (France) did not let anyone down. Alex began to build the win with a 7.65. Pierre hit back with a 6.8 and then found a note 8.75 to go to the lead mid final.

Uranga proved too strong with a series of backflips and aerial manoeuvres soared back with the best wave of the final, 9.75 and the confirmed title.

“Today was my day. I was very well throughout the championship and the waves were up to me. I am very happy with this victory.

“The Brazilian fans supported me from beginning to end, I feel at home,” Alex said.

itacoatiara_pro_0012_0961_(C) HeusiAction-GabrielHeusi

In the semi-finals, tour leader Jeff Hubbard could not find that extra wave to defeat Uranga, despite having a 8.5 and 7.5. João Zik  13.15 (BRA) did all he could in the second semi-final but the sheer precision and stylish riding of Pierre-Louis Costes (FRA) proved too good.

In the women’s final, three-time world champion Isabela Sousa was absolutely clinical winning decision against Japanese bodyboarder Ayaka Suzuki.


“I was already missing the victory. Last year I was runner-up in three events and had almost a year since I won a world title event so it is very important to me,” Sousa said.

Itacoatiara is very special, I am always well received and this year was no different. Now my aim is Arica (Chile), which is also a step that never won,” said the new leader of the women’s world tour.

In the third place, Japanese rider Sari Ohara surpassed defending world champion Alexandra Rinder.

Meanwhile in the Pro Junior division, Brazil’s Diogo Gomes took victory over Chile’s Cristian Tapia.

H1 Alex Uranga 1, 17.40 (EUK) Pierre Louis Costes 1, 15.55 (FRA)
Consolation Final
H1 Jeff Hubbard 2, 15.00 (HAW) João Zik 2, 14.55 (BRA)

Semi Finals:
H1: Alex Uranga 1, 16.90 (EUK) Jeff Hubbard 2, 16.00 (HAW)
H2: João Zik 2, 13.15 (BRA) Pierre Louis Costes 1, 15.35 (FRA)

Quarter Finals:
H1: Amaury Lavehrne 2, 13.85 (REU), Alex Uranga 1, 14.75 (EUK)
H2: Matias Dias 2, 15.25 (CHI) Jeff Hubbard 1, 18.55 (HAW)
H3: João Zik 1, 12.10 (BRA)  Maxime Castillo 2, 11,65 (FRA)
H4: Tristan Roberts 1, 16.75 (AFS)  Pierre Louis Costes 1, 16.00 (FRA)

Final Womens:
H1 Isabela Sousa 1, 11.75 (BRA)Ayaka Susuki 1, 10.75 (JAP)

Final Pro Junior:
H1 Diogo Gomes 1, 15.10 (BRA) Cristian Tapia 2, 14.65 (CHL)

MWT Top 10:

Jeff Hubbard            Hawaii    10,000
Alex Uranga            Basque    9280
Pierre Louis Costes    France    9000
Amaury Lavernhe        Reunion    6100
Dave Hubbard        Hawaii    5700
Maxime Castillo        France    5600
Tanner McDaniel        Hawaii    5480
Jared Huston            StAfrica    5420
Alex Munoz            Chile    5200
Joao Zik                Brazil    4800