Iain Campbell wins the 2016 Arica Chilean Challenge in style

South African Iain Campbell has won the 2016 Arica Chilean Challenge in 6-8 feet Flopos in defeating Reunion Islander Amaury Lavernhe in the final.

Jeff Hubbard (Hawaii) finished 3rd defeating Tristan Roberts (South Africa) who came 4th in the podium final.

podiumL-R: Jeff Hubbard (3rd) Amaury Lavernhe (2nd) Iain Campbell (1st) and Tristan Roberts (4th)

The APB World Tour event is always popular with both competitors and audiences alike with consistent waves in the 6ft+ range making for some exciting action.


Amaury with a tight air reverse on the final day.

A freak sandstorm also made things a little exciting, with the comp having to be put on hold as everyone ran for cover.


Jeff Hubbard showing off his new slick graphics with a flip in the podium final. 

Reigning World Champion Jared Houston had an event to forget, getting knocked out in the 3rd round to local junior Marcelo Faundez who was incredibly given an 8.5 for roll to Eppo air, despite roll combos scoring in the range of 5-6 for the entire event. Jared landed two huge flips yet wasn’t able to get the score needed to progress.

Watch the controversial heat here (starts at 39:30)


Jarod Houston with a huge invert in the early rounds, but failed to make it through in a controversial heat 3 matchup with a local rider. 



Isabela signature smile beaming just that little bit brighter.

In the womens event, Brazilian Isabela Sousa won her first ever Arica Chilean Challenge defeating Japanese Sari Ohara in the final.

Alexandra Rinder finished 3rd followed by Teresa Almeida (Portugal) in 4th.




Tanner McDaniel getting set before his Pro Junior Final.

Tanner McDaniel recovered from his controversial finish in the Itacoatiara event to take out the Pro Junior division from local rider Hamed Cofre (Chile) while Socrates Santana (Brazil) and Joaquim Soto (Chile) finsihed 3rd and 4th respectively.


Tanner McDaniel with a tight flip in the Pro Junior Final.


In the overall rankings, Jeff Hubbard Leads from Pierre Louis Costes, with Amaury Lavernhe, Alex Uranga and Iain Campbell rounding out the top five.