Eight new Australian Bodyboard champions were crowned in a massive final day of the Australian Bodyboard Titles at Coffs Harbour on the weekend.

Continuing his outstanding form in the 2016 Australian Bodyboard Titles was West Australian native Jake Metcalfe (City Beach, WA) who posted an impressive 15.35 heat total to claim the Open Mens final. Metcalfe continued to turn heads in the tricky conditions, executing a variety of spins and rolls to get the nod over his fellow WA statesman Lee Wilson (Margaret River, WA) who claimed second place with a notable 14.75 heat total.
Britt Ladley (Mermaid Waters, Qld) made light work of the tricky conditions, unleashing a multitude of decent turns to take dual victories across the Open Womens division. The Gold Coast native posted a respectable 13.60 heat total to keep her opposition at arms length and claim herself the Australian Title.

Former professional bodyboarder Adam Keegan (Marcoola, Qld) collected one of the very few excellent scores of the entire event to claim the Senior Mens (Over-35) final. Keegan nabbed an impressive barrel ride and a combination of manoeuvres to claim a convincing win from local bodyboarder Heath Werner (Toormina, NSW) who was unable to find the required 8.76 wave score to claim victory.

While Liam Lucas (Clovelly, NSW) was unable to claim the win in the Open Mens division, he was able to put on a stellar performance in the Junior Mens (Under-18) to ensure an Australian Title returned to Sydney. Lucas posted a respectable 13.25 heat total to claim the victory ahead of fellow Eastern Sydney bodyboarder Liam Flanagan (Matraville, NSW) who finished in the runner-up spot.

uploads_2F1470981743926-uyi6x3rcoz3u4111-34792977fe10987908e53a0009e864a6_2FJakeMetcalf_ASFD14_WA_Smith0310Rory Nelson (Cape Burney, WA) added another title to the WA kittie, taking out the Open Dropknee division. Nelson took a convincing victory in the division with a heat total of 12.60.

Open Men

1 – Jake Metcalfe (City Beach, WA)
2 – Lee Wilson (Margaret River, WA)
3 – Liam Lucas (Clovelly, NSW)
4 – Jessie King (Bunbury, WA)

Open Women
1 – Britt Ladley (Mermaid Waters, Qld)
2 – Lauren Tarrent (Emerald Beach, NSW)
3 – Zoe Curling (Tweed Heads, NSW)

Grommets (Under-14)
1 – Buzz Van Der Waal (Kingscliff, NSW)
2 – Patrick Franklyn (Fremantle, WA)
3 – Blair McDuff (Moffat Beach, Qld)
4 – Sam Giddy (Newport, NSW)

Cadets (Under-16)
1 – Matt Hanks (Falcon, WA)
2 – Henry Gibson (Falcon, WA)
3 – Santo Van Der Waal (Kingscliff, NSW)
4 – Harry Crain (Copacabana, NSW)

Juniors (Under-18)
1 – Liam Lucas (Clovelly, NSW)
2 – Liam Flanagan (Matraville, NSW)
3 – Jake Martin (Berkeley Vale, NSW)
4 – James Doherty (Coogee, NSW)

Open Dropknee
1 – Rory Nelson (Cape Burney, WA)
2 – Mitchell Ashcroft (Sandy Beach, NSW)
3 – Zach Armytage (Wombarra, NSW)
4 – Matt Sullivan (Coffs Harbour, NSW)

Masters (Over-35)
1 – Adam Keegan (Marcoola, Qld)
2 – Heath Werner (Toormina, NSW)
3 – Lloyd Llewellyn (Bli Bli, Qld)
4 – Luke Jackson (Qld)

Grand Masters (Over-45)
1 – Justin Becker (Mudgeeraba, Qld)
2 – Richard O’Donnell (Mudgeeraba, Qld)
3 – Graeme Ellis (Elanora, Qld)
4 – Steve Watson (Blairgowrie, Vic)
5 – Paul Mace (Elermore Vale, NSW)